National Art Recognition

Three Ouachita Christian 11th graders have received national recognition for their artwork.

Carolyn Dorris and Spencer Elkins won Silver Keys in the renowned National Scholastic Art Competition; Abby Smith won two Honorable Mentions.

For more than 90 years, The Scholastic Art & Writing Award program has sought to encourage, foster, and reward creativity in the nation’s classrooms and to confer recognition on emerging talent.

The Scholastic Art Awards represents the most comprehensive national annual assessment of the creative spirit among American teens.

Students in 7th through 12th grade submit digital images of their work. Students’ entries are blindly adjudicated by some of the foremost leaders in the visual and literary arts.

Jurors look for works that exemplify the Awards’ core values: originality, technical skill, and the emergence of personal voice or vision. 

Dorris is the daughter of Kim and Larry Dorris; Elkins, the son of Toni and Vance Elkins; and Abby, the daughter of Juli and Jerod Smith.

The students are under the instruction of OCS art teacher Mrs. Karen Sharp